GamingJAB
A jab at gaming – with love

More Drafts Than Published Articles

-By Josh

So it has been a while and we are all lazy. So to give an update I figured I would give you a quick rundown of my top six (yes, 6) games of 2010, what I’m currently playing, and my most anticipated games of 2011. As I mostly play games on my PS3, my top five games of 2010 will not have Starcraft II, Civilization V, or Mass Effect 2. This list is in no particular order.

My top 6 of 2010 for PS3.

Heavy Rain – Everyone’s experience with this game was different and that is why I found this game so unique and compelling. While there are certainly flaws with the game:  third-person movement controls, narrative inconsistencies, and ugly accents – “Jason!” – the game took risks that more or less paid off. Having an adult storyline, consequences for actions, and a great presentation is what made me remember Heavy Rain.

God of War III – A God of War game.  That in itself will describe why this is a great game:  tight controls, great set-pieces, epic boss battles. They didn’t do anything to mess up what they already established in God of War I and God of War II. Is there anything unique about this game from the previous titles? Not really. Is it still kick-ass fun? Hell yeah.

Bioshock 2 – I think a lot of people overlooked this game. The game fixed some of my personal gameplay issues of the first game, specifically the aiming seemed much tighter. This game also had some wonderful elements near the end of the game, specifically involving the little sisters, which stood out in my mind as a great segment of 2010.

Battlefield: Bad Company 2 – I play this game every weekend. I think two major things stick out in my mind over why I prefer this shooter to the others on the market. One, tactics and teamwork are really needed to dominate in this game. Teams that don’t work together probably won’t win, even if they have a player that is stellar as an individual. Two, the game lends itself to a more methodical strategy (larger maps, destructible environments, squad spawns) as oppose to just frantic killing floors. Also, having continual updates (like Vietnam) doesn’t hurt.

Red Dead Redemption – GTA4 on horses. Actually, it’s so much more than GTA4. I enjoyed GTA4, but RDR is such a better game. I say better because of the shooting, the characters, and the story. This game came as a surprise to me because of how good the story was package in a game I wasn’t sure I was going to connect with (not a huge western fan, except perhaps the TV show Firefly). I also have to say that I play games for the stories, and this game really outshines the story in GTA4.

Final Fantasy XIII – What can I say about FF13 that hasn’t already been said. It’s beautiful and the battle system is fun. I’m very torn about this game because I go through periods where I really enjoy the game and other times I just have to put the game away for about 2-3 months (I put it away because I feel the leveling/grinding is non-linear). I’m currently in that 2-3 month window now, but I’m getting the itch to get back into it and finish it. I’m about 60 hours in so I have to be close right?

My personal 2011 watch list for PS3 (this may be long).

Beyond Good & Evil HD, Bulletstorm, Crysis 2, Dead Space 2, Deus Ex, Duke Nukem Forever, Infamous 2, Journey, Killzone 3, LA Noire, LittleBigPlanet 2, Mass Effect 2, Mass Effect 3, Motorstorm 3, PixelJunk Shooter 2, Portal 2, Rage, Resistance 3, Shadow of the Colossus & Ico HD, Socom 4, The Last Guardian, Tomb Raider (Reboot), & Uncharted 3.

2 Responses to “More Drafts Than Published Articles”

  1. Cant wait to read the new articles. With most of my shows on Hiatus and Explicit Gamer gone there really isnt much to do on the internet.

    Oh yeah Ive included you guys in my List on this website called Lunch.com. Cheak it out its called “BLOGS BLOGS BLOGS and more BLOGS” by KingreX32

  2. Thanks, Kingre. Glad you enjoy our site.

    Josh, I’ve actually beaten FFXIII, but I’m currently replaying my save file right before the final boss to grind my butt off. Seriously, I’ve spent probably 5 hours already just in one room, as the CP these guys give is the highest in the game. I’m going to completely fill my crystallarium AND have the maximum amount of reserve CP points (999,999) before I head back to Gran Pulse.


Leave a Reply

