GamingJAB
A jab at gaming – with love

PLAYtime #1

By Josh

I was gone last weekend so I didn’t get to play as much as I would have liked. That being said, I was able to finish Mass Effect 2 last night. It took me about 30-32 hours; hours well spent. I don’t really want to spoil anything, but this game is now sitting as one of my favorite games. I’m also very excited about Mass Effect 3 this fall/winter. I think BioWare did an excellent job with this game. There are a couple of things I would fix, but they are all so minor I don’t even know if they are worth mentioning. I really want BioWare to come out with T-shirts that say “I went thru the Omega 4 relay…” – and all I got was this lousy T-shirt or – and who wants to touch me. They have a couple of T-shirts at their store. I might get one.

As for Mass Effect 3, I read at Kotaku that Clint Mansell will be doing the soundtrack. Brian thinks it is a “dumb move,” but I’m optimistic. I agree with him that the music by Jack Wall (lead composer for Mass Effect and Mass Effect 2) was great, but I’m not against trying something new. Also, Clint Mansell’s music is ominous, foreboding, and dark. Perhaps these will be the themes of Mass Effect 3(?).

I also had some time to play Dead Space 2. I can’t really say much about it yet as I’m only in chapter 2. I will say that character control is much more fluid and with that fluidity, it almost seems easier than Dead Space. But I’m only at the beginning.

As for Dead Space Extraction I’m thinking of going through it with two Move controllers so I can “dual-wield” instead of co-op. I’ll be such a bad ass. And to add to my bad-ass-ery, I ended up pre-ordering the PS3 Move Sharpshooter. It will probably make me really lame, but I’m really excited about Killzone 3 to the extent that I don’t want to download the beta to lend me any hints of the game. Also, I ended up going to Best Buy to pick up a Navigation controller because they are becoming hard to find and I didn’t have one – they are backordered at most retailers (Amazon, Best Buy), but you can find them in stock at stores.

That is all for this week. I will be on tomorrow morning playing Battlefield: Bad Company 2 if anyone wants to join.

No Responses to “PLAYtime #1”

Leave a Reply

