GamingJAB
A jab at gaming – with love

PLAYtime #3

By Josh

This week has been a good week for gaming. I ended up upgrading the hdd in my PS3 this week. I figured I might as well do it now before the backup procedure takes too long. The backup itself took 1:45 and the restore took about 2 hrs. That pretty much took an entire evening. But it was relatively painless, just time consuming.

I was able to finish Dead Space 2 last week, but failed to post it. Dead Space 2 really ramps up the action later on in the game. What I thought was a slow start was intentional and it really adds to the action that occurs later on. I don’t think I’ll be able to get the Hard Core trophy in this game as I’m still missing that trophy from the original Dead Space. If you are at all hesitant about playing this game, don’t be – go play it. I’m excited to start a “New Game Plus” but I’m not sure when I will be able to find the time. The multiplayer could have been good, but I don’t think I’ll revisit it any time soon. I’m also still working through Dead Space: Extraction, but it’s being placed on the back burner.

I’ve also started Killzone 3. I haven’t touched any of the multiplayer and I’m going through the single-player. My feelings about the game are lukewarm. I’ve probably put about 8 hours in the game and I still haven’t had that a-hah moment. The game looks beautiful, sounds great, but the shooting still doesn’t feel quite right to me. I had this problem with Killzone 2, but aiming down the sites does NOT increase accuracy in this game. Even though I feel it should, as in most shooters. Other people say the controls feel weighty, which they do, but this has never really bothered me as much as the shooting. Surprisingly, the story is somewhat better than I expected (so far) and there are some new gameplay features that spice up the variety. But I think with all spices, they should be used to enhance flavor not be the only flavor. Killzone 3 has plenty of spice, but the shooting doesn’t seem quite top choice. I’ve yet to play online or use the Move, so I’ll have more about Killzone 3 in the future.

I also played some Final Fantasy XIII, because I’m going to see the end damn it, and Mass Effect 2. I’m going through Mass Effect 2 as a male Shepard because I’ve got the hots for Miranda – going for the Paramour trophy!

Looking forward towards the next two months, I just downloaded PixelJunk Shooter 2 and will have more about it next week. I’m also planning to purchase Portal 2 (Apr. 19), Beyond Good & Evil HD (Spring?), Ico & Shadow of the Colossus HD (Spring?), and Journey (Hopefully Spring?). There are also games that I’m keeping my eye on: Dragon Age 2 (Mar. 8), Crysis 2 (Mar. 22), Motorstorm Apocalypse (Apr. 12), SOCOM 4 (Apr. 19), and Deus Ex: Human Revolution (Hopefully Spring?).

Oh and if you like trilogies, these are all coming Mar. 22: Splinter Cell Trilogy HD, Prince of Persia Trilogy HD, and Tomb Raider Trilogy HD. Enjoy.

2 Responses to “PLAYtime #3”

  1. Crysis 2 looks kinda boring, imo.

    BTW, when are you buying Magic? I’m telling you, it’s fuuunnnnn… 🙂

  2. I could agree that Crysis 2 looks rather… plain, but I’m excited to see how the Crytec engine looks on the PS3.

    Also, I will purchase Magic soon.

    Did you download either Dead Nation or Lara Croft and the Guardian of Light? Dead Nation is on sale this week and Lara Croft is going on sale soon. Just wondering what you thought.


Leave a Reply

